1. Everything Android is a community forum that makes it easy to ask questions about anything and everything Android. It's 100% free and no registration required (though we think it would be awesome if you joined our community). Our community of experts are here to help.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating intranet on Droid X, file retrieval, file indexing, file viewing

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by bestresearcher, Oct 9, 2010.

1. bestresearcher

bestresearcher New Member

Oct 9, 2010

Sponsored Ad

Hi, I'm a newbie and hope this has not been asked before. I have transferred 20,000 html files (consisting of primarily text) to my Droid X. They are stored in a folder on my SD card. I can locate the folder. However, all of the file managers require that the entire folder be read before I can even dream of opening one of the files in that folder for viewing. This takes forever and occurs each and every time I attempt to use a file manager- and I have tried several including Astro-- for this purpose.

After an interminable wait, I see all of the 20,000 plus files but cannot get to the one I want to open which links to the other files. In other words, I have 20,000 files on my SD card that, effectively speaking, I can neither access nor view. This is a database of legal cases and statutes, etc. which I need for my work. I would love to be able to search for specific text as well but first things first.

If this problem cannot be solved, I am faced with two other undesirable situations. 1. I can