1. Everything Android is a community forum that makes it easy to ask questions about anything and everything Android. It's 100% free and no registration required (though we think it would be awesome if you joined our community). Our community of experts are here to help.
    Dismiss Notice

How do folks like their Nexus?

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by EQBob, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30

    Sponsored Ad

    Title says it all... Good bad ugly .... Would like to hear it. Hockey?
     
  2. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Also... I think I have heard now, that you can essentially buy any phone and get it activated on VZW? How would I do that? If if get something from Amazon for instance, how do I get it working on VZW on my number?
     
  3. Sponsored Advertisement

  4. sherri

    Gold

    Jun 29, 2007
    41
    If it is a phone made for Verizon, you can just do an equipment swap....Check to see if new phone needs sim card...

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk
     
  5. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
    Bob, that would be news to me. Historically Verizon has not permitted "outside" phones on their network. I thought there was a court case a few years ago that forced them to do it, but I think they set up a system that made the user send the phone to them for evaluation and the process could take months.

    Maybe something has changed.

    I am not aware that they are using SIM cards either. Their network never has, but maybe LTE does?
     
  6. n99hockey

    Moderator

    Feb 7, 2007
    111
    I love my Nexus, can't go to anything else after this. I got my HTC for Sense, and now I got the Nexus BECAUSE of Sense. Easily unlocked and rooted, removed the crap apps, yup, Verizon managed to get a little bloat on there.

    Battery is ok, no better or worse really, love the huge screen, Android 4.0 is awesome. Only had one issue so far, happened twice, when the phone rings it will lock up. I am running a 'leaked' OS version so its possible that is the culprit because I can't recall that happening on the official version.

    You can buy any Verizon phone on Amazon and add it or update your plan from within Amazon. Its like going to Best Buy to get your phone, just another retail outlet.
     
  7. n99hockey

    Moderator

    Feb 7, 2007
    111
    Yes Steve, 4G phones have 4G Sim Cards.
     
  8. sherri

    Gold

    Jun 29, 2007
    41
    Steve, I assumed Bob meant getting a Verizon phone from Amazon (as Scott stated...just as if he bought a Verizon phone from Best Buy or Radio Shack...)

    And, yes, Rachel's 4G phone needs a sim card.

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
     
  9. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
    Interesting....I have a 4G Sprint phone and there is no SIM that I can see.......
     
  10. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
    Is it possible Verizon's phones are International/World phones and use the SIM if they connect outside the US? I had that on a couple of BBs, but you couldn't use the SIM (GSM network) within the US.
     
  11. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
  12. sherri

    Gold

    Jun 29, 2007
    41
    I am now putting this date on my calendar! ;)


    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
     
  13. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
    Well, I did hedge my bets when I said I wasn't sure if LTE required SIM cards. I still don't really understand why they do, but it sure looks like it is true. I haven't read enough to know if that may enable VZW's LTE phones to be used on GSM networks, but I doubt it. Probably just accesses LTE networks. How about internationally? Looks like that is a yes, but LTE networks only.

    Interesting stuff. Probably means Big Red is figuring out new ways to charge their customers for things in the future.
     
  14. n99hockey

    Moderator

    Feb 7, 2007
    111
    I can't be sure but I am pretty sure it is for VZW LTE only, and won't work outside of US
     
  15. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    I have never bought anywhere other than a VZW store. How does it work? What happens to my current plan. how can BestBuy get the details of my plan?
     
  16. sherri

    Gold

    Jun 29, 2007
    41
    They do it with your account information. It will not effect your current plan. I had unlimited data with my Q, and was "grandfathered" in.

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
     
  17. PacoJr67

    Bronze

    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    And it's a good thing, because after I got my D4 I ran up over 2 Gb in about 2 weeks, it's the first time I've gone over 2Gb ever...

    Sent from my DROID4 using Everything Android
     
  18. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    87
    You are correct. Look here. Also note the information about LTE Advanced.....Where will it all end?
     
  19. n99hockey

    Moderator

    Feb 7, 2007
    111
    Same here!
    I am in the 4-5GB range...without even trying
    Never touched 2GB on my Incredible
     
  20. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Good lord .... What do you folks do? I generally hit 250-300 meg and that's with 3 email accounts kicked to the phone. How on earth do you run up 4-5 gig???
     
  21. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    I guess I am not being clear. I am not currently eligible for an upgrade. So I can't get a phone at a decent price through VZW. If I can get one elsewhere, how do I get it activated on my account on my number in place of the the phone I am currently using? And will VZW screw me for this?
     

Share This Page