1. Everything Android is a community forum that makes it easy to ask questions about anything and everything Android. It's 100% free and no registration required (though we think it would be awesome if you joined our community). Our community of experts are here to help.
    Dismiss Notice

I bought a Nexus...so how do I ?

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by EQBob, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30

    Sponsored Ad

    Lots of good info at this link, thanks! So far, been uber happy with this. The virtual keyboard is sooooooooooooo much better in this phone/android version. My mistakes (of which there were plenty) should go down...

     
    #21 EQBob, Mar 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2014
  2. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Anyone using a holster for this phone? I have the Seidio holster for my Fascinate and love it, but the versions for this phone seem to all require you to enclose it in a case first.
     
  3. Sponsored Advertisement

  4. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Q9: I have a fave ring time (.wma). I sent it to myself in email. I download and saved the attachment on my Nexus. To where it saved it, I have _no_ clue. Can't find it, can't find a file browser type of all on it. How can I get that ringtone in someplace where the system will recognize it as a ringtone?
     
  5. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    84
    Did you look in the SD card, assuming you have one installed. How about just downloading again and this time direct it where to download so you can find it?
     
  6. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Well, saving it from email didn't give me an option as to where to save it.
    I installed ES File Explorer, did a search for the file, found it, and copied it to a /sdcard/ringtones dir
    The system is not picking it up.
    I'm beginning to think that ICS can't play WMA files.
    Everything from Zedge is .mp3
    Converters on the net are $30+
     
  7. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    84
    How about installing to the root file:
    System > Media > Audio > Inside the Audio folder you will see 3 folders > ringtones, notifications and alarms
    Copy to Ringtones

    At least that is how it is on Gingerbread.....
     
  8. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Thanks Steve. I will try. I have to figure out how to get ES Explorer to get there. I don't know what all the icons mean <G>
     
  9. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    84
    Does this help?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    It did, thank you!
     
  11. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Q10: Is there a ICS browser tutorial anywhere? I've googled for same, and didn't find much of anything other than a hint or two. I can get to and found bookmarks easily enough, can figured out how to delete useless (MSN!) ones, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to SET one.
     
  12. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    So I found a WMA to MP3 converter. Apparently ICS can't play WMA, although earlier Android did.
    Downloaded, installed, converted, sent to myself, saved attachment, found it using file explorer, copied it to /sdcard/ringtones and now it appears!

    Thanks for the help!
     
  13. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    84
    Looks like the three dots would be the thing to press and a menu should pop up to offer choices. One looks like to add a bookmark for the page you are on. Look here...
     
  14. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Worked like a champ Steve, thanks! Also see the request desktop site flag in there which is very nice to know also!
    Thanks!
     
  15. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Sep 23, 2008
    84
    Imagine if I actually had ICS....I would be dangerous!

    :eek:
     
  16. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Well, you're doing pretty good without having it!
    Apparently much better than me with it, although I learning.
     
  17. dgray636

    Bronze

    Aug 22, 2010
    10
    You Steve? No, never. (Be careful of sarcasm dripping from my previous statement.)

    Sent from my DROIDX using Everything Android
     
    #36 dgray636, Mar 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2015
  18. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Q11: Ok so I accessed my home WiFi from the phone. It LOOKS like it automatically switches to it whenever the phone is in range, switches to 4G when it isn't and back and forth so on and so on. If so, great. Cuz with WiFi and home and work, then I rarely need Data. Can anyone confirm this behavior?
     
  19. dgray636

    Bronze

    Aug 22, 2010
    10
    That is the way it works for me. The only problem is when I go to a truckstop. You have to pay for wifi access there, so when I am not home, I just turn wifi off.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Everything Android
     
  20. EQBob

    Gold

    Sep 24, 2007
    30
    Kewl. Thanks! I also did my own test by walking outside, down the sidewalk, etc., then coming back in and it switched in and out flawlessly. Should be good for traveling. A lot of airports now have free WiFi. Although my iPad always seems to have trouble completing the connection.
     
  21. sherri

    Gold

    Jun 29, 2007
    39
    Wi-fi works same way on Gingerbread. Once you connect to a network, phone (or tablet) "remember" it. If set to connect automatically, it will connect.

    Perfect for tablet which is wi-fi only. I go to gym, tab connect to clubhouse wi-fi. Same at office, or library. I also have and account with optimum online (local cable provider), and they provide wireless access to most of Long Island. Very convenient so I don't need to use Starbucks wi-fi...or at friends homes so you don't need to ask for password for their network...

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page