1. Everything Android is a community forum that makes it easy to ask questions about anything and everything Android. It's 100% free and no registration required (though we think it would be awesome if you joined our community). Our community of experts are here to help.
    Dismiss Notice

MMS Problem

Discussion in 'Android Questions' started by Briton Kirby, Oct 2, 2012.

1. Briton Kirby

Briton Kirby New Member

Oct 2, 2012

Sponsored Ad

I was wondering if anyone could help me. I am a volunteer firefighter and we have a system where when we receive a fire call the tones are sent via media message to our cell phones. This system works great for everyone but me. I have a Samsung Galaxy S2 and when the message comes through it is only as a text message with no media attached at all. All other phones in my dept are receiving the messages and the phones range from a very old krazr to the new iphone 5. Can anyone help me understand what may be going wrong? Everyone that has tried to help me has given suggestions about removing the sim card to doing a root which i do not want to do and i do not have a sim card.

2. stevetaz

Sep 23, 2008
    First thing is to understand who provides your cell service and do they support MMS messaging? Many carriers also require a plan that costs a bit more to receive and send MMS messages.

Does your cellular plan include MMS messaging? MMS is a form of data and can we assume you have a data plan?

3. Sponsored Advertisement

4. Briton Kirby

Briton Kirby New Member

Oct 2, 2012
    Yes i have a 5GB data plan. That is why i am so confused about all this because i receive MMS messages on a daily basis and sometimes they can be rather large and they come through with no problem at all.

5. stevetaz

Sep 23, 2008
    Are you the only user with a Samsung Galaxy S2? Is the message you are not getting a sound file and if so what is the format it is sent out using? You mentioned tones so that is why I am guessing it is a sound file.