Galaxy Nexus ok. I bought a Nexus...so how do I .....? (?'s follow)

Discussion in 'Samsung Android Phones' started by EQBob, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Lots of good info at this link, thanks! So far, been uber happy with this. The virtual keyboard is sooooooooooooo much better in this phone/android version. My mistakes (of which there were plenty) should go down...
     
    #21
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2014
  2. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Anyone using a holster for this phone? I have the Seidio holster for my Fascinate and love it, but the versions for this phone seem to all require you to enclose it in a case first.
     
    #22
  3. Avatar

    Sponsored Advertisement

  4. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Q9: I have a fave ring time (.wma). I sent it to myself in email. I download and saved the attachment on my Nexus. To where it saved it, I have _no_ clue. Can't find it, can't find a file browser type of all on it. How can I get that ringtone in someplace where the system will recognize it as a ringtone?
     
    #23
  5. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    81
    Did you look in the SD card, assuming you have one installed. How about just downloading again and this time direct it where to download so you can find it?
     
    #24
  6. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well, saving it from email didn't give me an option as to where to save it.
    I installed ES File Explorer, did a search for the file, found it, and copied it to a /sdcard/ringtones dir
    The system is not picking it up.
    I'm beginning to think that ICS can't play WMA files.
    Everything from Zedge is .mp3
    Converters on the net are $30+
     
    #25
  7. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    81
    How about installing to the root file:
    System > Media > Audio > Inside the Audio folder you will see 3 folders > ringtones, notifications and alarms
    Copy to Ringtones

    At least that is how it is on Gingerbread.....
     
    #26
  8. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks Steve. I will try. I have to figure out how to get ES Explorer to get there. I don't know what all the icons mean <G>
     
    #27
  9. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    81
    Does this help?
     
    #28
    • Like Like x 1
  10. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    It did, thank you!
     
    #29
  11. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Q10: Is there a ICS browser tutorial anywhere? I've googled for same, and didn't find much of anything other than a hint or two. I can get to and found bookmarks easily enough, can figured out how to delete useless (MSN!) ones, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to SET one.
     
    #30
  12. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    So I found a WMA to MP3 converter. Apparently ICS can't play WMA, although earlier Android did.
    Downloaded, installed, converted, sent to myself, saved attachment, found it using file explorer, copied it to /sdcard/ringtones and now it appears!

    Thanks for the help!
     
    #31
  13. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    81
    Looks like the three dots would be the thing to press and a menu should pop up to offer choices. One looks like to add a bookmark for the page you are on. Look here...
     
    #32
  14. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Worked like a champ Steve, thanks! Also see the request desktop site flag in there which is very nice to know also!
    Thanks!
     
    #33
  15. stevetaz

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    81
    Imagine if I actually had ICS....I would be dangerous!

    :eek:
     
    #34
  16. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well, you're doing pretty good without having it!
    Apparently much better than me with it, although I learning.
     
    #35
  17. dgray636

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Likes Received:
    10
    You Steve? No, never. (Be careful of sarcasm dripping from my previous statement.)

    Sent from my DROIDX using Everything Android
     
    #36
  18. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Q11: Ok so I accessed my home WiFi from the phone. It LOOKS like it automatically switches to it whenever the phone is in range, switches to 4G when it isn't and back and forth so on and so on. If so, great. Cuz with WiFi and home and work, then I rarely need Data. Can anyone confirm this behavior?
     
    #37
  19. dgray636

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Likes Received:
    10
    That is the way it works for me. The only problem is when I go to a truckstop. You have to pay for wifi access there, so when I am not home, I just turn wifi off.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Everything Android
     
    #38
  20. EQBob

    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    29
    Kewl. Thanks! I also did my own test by walking outside, down the sidewalk, etc., then coming back in and it switched in and out flawlessly. Should be good for traveling. A lot of airports now have free WiFi. Although my iPad always seems to have trouble completing the connection.
     
    #39
  21. sherri

    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Likes Received:
    37
    Wi-fi works same way on Gingerbread. Once you connect to a network, phone (or tablet) "remember" it. If set to connect automatically, it will connect.

    Perfect for tablet which is wi-fi only. I go to gym, tab connect to clubhouse wi-fi. Same at office, or library. I also have and account with optimum online (local cable provider), and they provide wireless access to most of Long Island. Very convenient so I don't need to use Starbucks wi-fi...or at friends homes so you don't need to ask for password for their network...

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
     
    #40

Share This Page