Re-flash phone to Sprint network?

Discussion in 'Android' started by wingnut144, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. wingnut144

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to take a phone from AT&T or Verizon, with a bad ESN and reflash it so it will work on Sprint?

    If so, how would this be done? Are there instructions somewhere? Are there certain models of phone that Sprint would support?
     
    #1
  2. n99hockey

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Likes Received:
    112
    AT&T definitely not since its not the same network type. And if it has a bad ESN, probably not on Verizon either.
     
    #2
  3. Avatar

    Sponsored Advertisement

  4. m.extra

    m.extra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not possible.

    Sent from my HTC EVO 4G using Everthing Android.
     
    #3
  5. PacoJr67

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sprint will NOT activate phones that aren't Sprint branded, even though technically a Verizon phone could be compatable with the network.
    Well the branding itself isn't really important, but if the ESN isn't in Sprint's flat file they won't activate it. And it's almost impossible to get an ESN added to the flat file (I've tried)
     
    #4
  6. bberryhill0

    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems Verizon has the same policy. The Q9n folks found the only hole.

    Swyped from my Eris running xtrSense 3.
     
    #5
  7. PacoJr67

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    9
    I wouldn't exactly call a test device a hole, they were always intended to be used on verizon

    Sent from my DROIDX using Everything Android App
     
    #6

Share This Page