Samsung GT-S6500D bought in China

Discussion in 'Samsung Android Phones' started by Pangpang, Jun 1, 2012.

1. Pangpang

Pangpang New Member

I'm relatively new to this whole Android thing but I'm trying to learn quickly. I live in small city in China. I recently bought a Samsung "Mini-Galaxy" (GT-S6500D) which is a pretty cool little phone in general but I'm having a major issue with it. I didn't discover this until I got it home and I could kick myself for not catching it at the store. I wouldn't have bought it had I known. The phone absolutely refuses to let me do anything that involves Google in any form. I can't add a Google account to it and therefore can't sync my Gmail or use the Google Play store. I've brought it back to the store several times and the folks there are nice but they don't seem to even understand exactly what I'm talking about despite my bringing a Chinese friend with me to translate. I had s friend call the Samsung China hotline and ask and she was told since the phone was made in Korea and not many Koreans use Google the company decided not to install the ability to add a Google account. This is, of course, nonsense but it is reflective of the level of cooperation I can expect from the company. Anyway, I'm not going to get a refund so I'm basically stuck with this phone. Mind you, I like it for the most part but not being able to download some apps I want is a real drag. ("China Apps" has most of the same apps as Google Play but not all.) I've been trying to either get the Hong Kong firmware which is different from what is here on the mainland and has Google or "root" the phone, which I've been told may very well solve the problem. I've downloaded a few zip files that I thought would root the phone and installed them while the phone was in recovery mode and none has worked so far. OK...my questions: 1) Will rooting the phone solve this problem? 2) Where on Earth can I find the correct zip file to actually do it?